

Cabinet Economic Development Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Upper North Island Supply Chain Strategy: Interim Report

Portfolio Associate Transport (Hon Shane Jones)

On 3 April 2019, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee:

- noted that on 18 December 2017, Cabinet agreed to the establishment of a working group (the Working Group) to undertake a review of New Zealand's freight and logistics sector for the Upper North Island [CAB-17-MIN-0550];
- **noted** the Working Group's interim progress report on the Upper North Island Supply Chain Strategy, attached to the paper under DEV-19-SUB-0057;
- noted that the Working Group's appointments ended on 28 February 2019 and that the Associate Minister of Transport (Hon Shane Jones) has extended the appointments [APH-19-MIN-0018], subject to paragraph 5 below;
- 4 **noted** that there have been a number of comprehensive studies on freight and the port network in New Zealand, and that the Working Group will take greater consideration of these studies in their subsequent analysis and reporting;
- agreed that the Working Group continue its work on the Upper North Island Supply Chain Strategy, taking a strategic and investment based approach supported by analysis of the supply chain;
- **noted** that the proposed strategic and investment based approach is consistent with the scope of the Working Group's Terms of Reference;
- 7 **agreed** that the Working Group deliver:
 - a report in June 2019, providing the results of the evaluation of different port locations (including Northport as an alternative location for all or part of the Ports of Auckland), freight flows and infrastructure options and scenarios;
 - a final report in September 2019, with the Working Group's conclusions and recommended actions to be taken over the next five years and beyond.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Hard-copy distribution: (see over)

DEV-19-MIN-0057 Revised

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair)

Hon Phil Twyford

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon David Parker

Released by the Associate Winister of Transport

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV