

# Cabinet Economic Development Committee

# Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

# Investing in Rapid Rail in the Hamilton to Auckland Corridor

## Portfolio Transport

On 29 July 2020, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee (DEV):

- **noted** that on 28 November 2018, DEV agreed to initiate a business case process to consider the potential for rapid rail to help deliver the government's aspirations for growth and economic development in the Hamilton-Auckland Corridor [DEV-18-MIN-0280];
- 2 **noted** that the need for a business case responded to the 'Shared Spatial Intent' for the settlements between Cambridge-Te Awamutu and Papakura;
- 3 **noted** the progress that has been made on other related transport and land use initiatives in the Hamilton-Auckland Corridor, and that those initiatives have placed rail/rapid transit at the core of future urban development;
- 4 **noted** that the interim indicative business case has confirmed the strategic value of rapid rail in the Hamilton-Auckland Corridor, and its role in shaping urban development and economic growth;
- 5 **noted** that the scope of the priorities for the next stages of project development include further project analysis, refinement of the alignment with other Corridor initiatives, investigation of a separate Indicative Business Case extending rapid rail to Tauranga, and stakeholder engagement;
- 6 **noted** that there are no financial considerations at this stage;
- 7 **agreed** that the Ministry of Transport initiate a process to develop the next stages of project development in greater detail, working with the Ministry of Housing and Urban Development, the Treasury, KiwiRail, Waka Kotahi New Zealand Transport Agency and Treaty partners in the Corridor.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

#### Present: (see over)

## IN CONFIDENCE

### Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters Hon Kelvin Davis Hon Grant Robertson (Chair) Hon Phil Twyford Hon Andrew Little Hon David Parker Hon Stuart Nash Hon Jenny Salesa Hon Damien O'Connor Hon Shane Jones Hon Kris Faafoi Hon Willie Jackson Hon James Shaw Hon Eugenie Sage

#### Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV